VEGAN HALLOWEEN CANDY: Vegan Candy You Should Know Top 25


Whether you’re eight or eighty, a proper Halloween demands candy. However, a lot of it contains animal components in addition to sugar and artificial additives. It’s extremely terrifying. It can be difficult to find vegan-friendly confectionary that is free of milk, eggs, shellac, and gelatin. This is why we’ve dedicated this page to covering everything you need to know about vegan Halloween candy.

Vegan halloween candy

There are a range of vegan Halloween candy to be aware of if you follow a vegan diet, ranging from Milky Ways and Milk Duds to the classic milk chocolate Hershey’s bar. Even seemingly harmless foods may include traces of animal components, despite the fact that these dairy-based chocolates are clearly non-compliant.

Check the ingredient list on a bag of traditional gummy bears or Starbursts to see if gelatin, a substance made from the collagen found in animal and fish bones, tissues, and tendons, is listed. Carmine, an insect-derived chemical used for coloring, is included in even the simplest Wonka Nerds boxes, so think twice before consuming any red or pink candy. Keep a watch out for Mike and Ike, which have bright shells. Confectioner’s glaze, a bug-infested material made from tree sap, is used in them.

You won’t have to give up milk, bugs, or bones if you read labels carefully and stick to this list of vegan Halloween candy. Some of the sweets listed below will remind you of your childhood (it turns out that Sour Patch Kids and Swedish Fish aren’t sentient beings after all), but there are also some new “healthier” plant-based candies on the market that are well worth trying.

#1.  Skittles

Yes, tasting the rainbow is a vegan-friendly experience. This wasn’t always the case, but since 2009, Skittles have been officially gelatin-free.

#2. Hunny Bon Sweets 

Hunny Bon is the first of its kind, developed by Kimberly Silver, a Certified Health Coach and vegan Halloween candy enthusiast. From chocolate-covered chia seeds to sour gummy worms, every candy is organic, vegan, made with clean ingredients, and even fortified with superfoods.

#3. Airheads

Nothing to worry about here just a whole lot of dairy-free, egg-free, animal protein-free artificial flavours in these classic fruit strips.

#4. Unreal Snacks

The Super Bowl champion Tom Brady avoids strawberries, peppers, mushrooms, eggplants, and caffeine to prevent inflammation, although he does adore Unreal sweets. If Brady’s renowned strict diet allows it, these chocolates must be the real deal. Crispy Quinoa or Peanut Dark Chocolate Gems, Dark Chocolate Almond or Peanut Butter Cups, and Dark Chocolate Almond or Peanut Butter Cups are all possibilities. Because they contain dairy, only the Milk Chocolate Gems should be avoided.

#5. Twizzlers

Plot twist: Despite being red AND gummy, this classic liquorice doesn’t contain any animal-derived ingredients.

#6. Eating Evolved

Eating Evolved deserves to be at the top of everyone’s favourite candy list, despite its motto of “Chocolate: It’s food, not candy.” The primal chocolate bars are the perfect balance of dark and sweet, and the coconut butter cups (especially the limited-edition pumpkin spice flavour) will make you wonder why peanut butter is so popular.

#7. Jolly Ranchers

The main drawback to these suckers is that they contain Lecithin, which can be derived from plants but can also come from eggs. Jolly Ranchers are vegan, according to Peta, but if you’re a devout vegan, you should avoid them.

#8. Justin’s Dark Chocolate PB Cups

Justin’s Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups are absolutely delicious and dairy-free. Although milk is present in the milk and white chocolate kinds, everyone knows that dark chocolate is the best.

#9. Swedish Fish

For Halloween, these vibrant red fish-shaped chewies are a must-have. Swedish Fish gummy candy is available in a range of unusual flavours, including tropical minis. While most Swedish Fish delights are cruelty-free, these berry-flavoured snacks may contain beeswax on occasion. Double-check your ingredient lists before you eat.

#10. Wholesome Candies

Try these DelishFish, which are made entirely of organic and non-GMO ingredients, if you want to improve your Swedish Fish game. Vegan gummy bears, worms, and chews are available in Wholesome’s Surf Sweets line, as well as a “vegan” filter on their website to make your search easier.

#11. Smarties

These little guys have been unintentionally vegan since 1949. No gelatin. dairy. bug-based dyes.

#12. Dum-Dums

If you come across the famed “mystery” flavour in a bag of Dum-Dums, you’ll know at least one thing: it’s vegan-friendly.

#13. Blow Pops 

Blow Pops aren’t to be mistaken with their chocolate-filled older siblings, Tootsie Pops, because they don’t include any animal products.

#14. Yum Earth Organic Candies

Yum Earth is another innovative candy company that sells organic, non-GMO, and vegan lollipops, fruit snacks, liquorice, jelly beans, sour twists, and other hard candies. All of their products are now dairy-free, but some still contain eggs, so they hope to make all of their chocolates vegan-friendly by the end of 2017.

#15. Sour Patch Kids

You know, the vegan, kid-shaped treats that are sour at first, then sweet? We prefer blue raspberry, but any Sour Patch Kids flavour would suffice. The seasonal Sour Patch Zombies, which come in delightful grape and orange flavours, are our favourites.

#16. Dots

Tootsie Roll dots are another tasty memory for you. Classic vegan Halloween candy, these tasty and fruity gumdrops come in a small cardboard box. For vegan cuisine, choose Dots in Original, Tropical, or Sour flavours. We’ve got options, people! The Sour Dots are our ultimate favourite.

#17. Endangered Species Dark Chocolate

Rather than simply avoiding animal ingredients when selecting a candy bar, this wonderful dark chocolate can actually aid in the conservation of endangered species. The company gives 10% of its net profits to its GiveBack partners, which at the present include the Wildlife Conservation Network and the Rainforest Trust.

#18. Enjoy Life Foods Chocolate 

Enjoy Life Foods has a number of crowd-pleasing options that are free of the top eight allergens as well as artificial additives. Their new Halloween minis assortment includes crunchy, dark, and rice milk chocolate varieties, making them suitable substitutes for normal milk chocolate bars.

#19. Now and Later

Starbursts aren’t vegan-friendly since they contain gelatin, however, the original Now and Laters are. The new Shell-Shocked and Sour variants, on the other hand, are not vegan, so stick with the original.

#20. Alter Eco Chocolate

Dark chocolate that has been certified as fair-trade? Please accept my request. Although a couple of Alter Eco’s varieties contain butter, the plant-based bars, such as Dark Quinoa and Deep Dark Sea Salt, will wow you.

#21. Fun Dip

Repeat the process of licking, dipping, and licking. This one brings you right back to your childhood, complete with sticky Halloween night fingers. What’s not to like about RazzApple Magic, a sweet dipping flavour? By accident, Fun Dip is vegan, which we love! Get in touch with your inner child and grab this one-of-a-kind Halloween delicious treat.

#22. Chick-O-Stick

A hint of salt, a hint of sweetness, a smidgeon of peanut, a smidgeon of coconut, and a whole lot of reminiscence. For the fall season, the Chick-O-Stick is a must-have. To be honest, these vegan-friendly treats taste like coconut Butterfinger, which we like. PS: The Atkinson’s Candy website has a whole vegan-friendly candy section. Winning!

#23. Jujyfruits

These fruity chews are not only tasty but also adorable; they’re like a miniature movie theatre for us. Prepare to sink your teeth into these vegetarian-friendly fruit and veggie-shaped candy bites. Jujyfruit comes in a variety of shapes, including asparagus, tomato, grape, banana, pineapple, raspberry, and pea pods.

#24. Ring Pops

Prepare to have vegan-friendly, wearable sweets adorn your fingers. For trick-or-treaters, Ring Pops are a Halloween dream come true. With strawberry, watermelon, and blue raspberry flavours, these sweet jewels are fit for a terrifying queen. The gelatin-based Ring Pop Gummy Rings are not plant-based.

#25. Charms Blow Pops

Bubblegum with a chewy centre and a delectable crunchy candy exterior? Kindly register us! It’s as if you’re receiving two treats for the price of one. Lollipops aren’t your thing? Try the Blow Pop Minis, which are similar to regular Blow Pops but do not come with a stick. These Charms Blow Pops, of course, are vegan. There are no gimmicks here, just sweets.

What Animal Ingredients Commonly Appear in Candy?

The majority of Halloween candies supplied to trick-or-treaters contain milk components. As a result, the chocolate in mass-market Halloween candy is almost never of the greatest quality. Low-end chocolate is rarely vegan because milk chocolate is less expensive than dark chocolate.

Gelatin is found in many brightly coloured soft translucent candies, such as Gummy Bears. Vegan alternatives to gelatin-based candies are, however, available from a number of companies. Unfortunately, the majority of them aren’t individually, which makes them unsuitable for trick-or-treaters.

Are Food Colors Vegan?

Food colouring is another issue; certain types are naturally vegan, while others aren’t. In addition, carmine, a red colour used in food and cosmetics, is made from cochineal, a scale insect species. Carmine is also known as cochineal, cochineal extract, crimson lake or carmine lake, natural red 4, C.I. 75470, or E120 on labels.

Carmine also comes in a bug-free version. A vegan carmine produced from sweet potatoes has been developed by Chr. Hansen, a Danish bioscience company. Vegans can also use other food colourings if they want to. The vegetarian resource Veg offers a page dedicated to food colouring, which explains in-depth which components are vegan and why.

Simply Vegan Sweets, for example, has released a complete line of vegan-friendly pick-and-mix sweets in the UK. Certain well-known companies, such as Rowntrees, are even serving traditional cuisine. In addition, as of Halloween 2020, fruit Pastilles sharing bags will be vegan-friendly. In the United States, popular sweets including Airheads, Jujubes, and certain varieties of Swedish Fish are already vegan-friendly.


I hope this big list of vegan Halloween treats provides you with some inspiration for what to give your trick-or-treaters. These are also some wonderful vegan Halloween treats to provide! With the popularity of veganism on the rise and growing numbers of food allergies, finding vegan Halloween candy is easier than it’s ever been. 


Are candy pumpkins vegan?

Long before the pumpkin spice latte became the most polarizing autumnal food, there was candy corn. … However, the most ubiquitous brand of candy corn is Brach’s, and they use gelatin to give their tri-coloured treats their infamous texture. Gelatin is made from animal tendons, ligaments and bones—decidedly not vegan.

Are Skittles vegan?

The natural and artificial flavourings, colourings, thickeners, sweeteners, and other ingredients used to make Skittles are either made synthetically or derived from plants. This means, by definition of veganism, the standard varieties of Skittles are suitable for a vegan diet.

Is Orbit gum vegan?

The truth is Orbit Gum is in fact Vegan; all of their flavours should be vegan as they’ve stated so multiple times and all of their parent companies other gum products are vegan as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like